License Suspension and Revocation Laws in Wisconsin
Dealing with a license suspension or revocation isn’t easy and can hinder every aspect of your life. From getting to work to picking up your children, daily tasks can quickly become very challenging. Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is illegal in the state of Wisconsin. Whether the license is suspended or revoked, the impact on a driver’s ability to operate a vehicle is essentially the same.
There are a number of reasons for which your license can be suspended or revoked. Under Wisconsin law, your license can be suspended if you are habitually reckless or negligent in that you have repeatedly violated traffic laws. Your license can also be suspended or revoked for operating a vehicle while intoxicated or other alcohol-related offenses, excessive speeding, unpaid tickets, and certain sexual assault convictions.
Each traffic offense comes with a certain number of demerit points. Once an individual accumulates 12 or more demerit points within a given 12-month period, his or her license will be suspended for at least two months. For example, speeding between one and 10 mph over the speed limit results in three demerit points, while operating while under the influence of drugs or alcohol would be an offense worth six demerit points, and inattentive driving would lead to four demerit points. These offenses are just a few examples of a much longer list of offenses for which an individual can earn demerit points.
If you are caught operating a motor vehicle after your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended, there can be very serious consequences. It can be either a criminal or civil offense. For example, under Wisconsin law, driving after revocation is known as operating after revocation (OAR) and is considered a criminal misdemeanor if the driver’s license was initially revoked because of drunk driving (DUI) or operating while intoxicated (OWI). An OAR criminal misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in county jail, up to $2,500 in fines, an additional six months of license privileges and court costs.
The length of your license suspension or revocation will depend on the specific situation. This includes the reason, length, and conditions of your suspension or revocation. To reinstate a suspended license in Wisconsin, proof of insurance is only required in certain limited situations. To reinstate a revoked license, an individual must file proof of insurance in all cases, except for the first offense of operating a vehicle while intoxicated, and for all noncompliance-related revocations. Typically, after the suspension or revocation expires, an individual will pay a reinstatement fee.
If you are dealing with license suspension or revocation issues, the Milwaukee criminal defense attorneys at Reddin & Singer can help. We provide sound legal advice regarding driving violations. We take pride in effectively representing our clients in license revocation and license reinstatement proceedings. With years of experience, we can help advocate on your behalf and protect your interests. For more information, please do not hesitate to contact us online or call us at (414) 271-6400.