Wisconsin Concealed Gun Carry Laws
Every state has its own laws when it comes to concealed weapons. Concealed carry refers to the practice of carrying a weapon in a manner that is concealed, or hidden from the view of others. Typically, even if you own a gun, you can’t just take it everywhere you go. Gun owners are subject to certain limitations by law.
In the state of Wisconsin, individuals who are below the age of 21 are not permitted to carry a weapon. Individuals who are convicted of a felony in Wisconsin or a crime in a different state that would be considered a felony in Wisconsin are also prohibited from carrying a weapon in the state. Persons considered delinquents through adjudication and individuals found not guilty by reason of insanity or mental illness are barred from carrying weapons as well.
Adults in Wisconsin are permitted to openly carry several different types of weapons without a permit. However, individuals require a permit to carry a concealed handgun. In order to obtain a concealed carry permit, the person seeking it must be at least 21 years of age, a resident of the state of Wisconsin, and someone who is not otherwise barred from owning a gun under the law. If these requirements are met, the person can submit a concealed carry application to the local county sheriff’s department. Typically, once an application is submitted, the state conducts a background check and verifies that the applicant has completed a firearms safety course.
Under Wisconsin law, unless you are in your house, your place of work, or on your own property, you may not carry a concealed weapon without a concealed carry permit as approved and provided by the state.
Other instances where you are not permitted to carry a gun include in prison or a detention center, in a secured area of a mental health institution, in a courtroom, past airport security checkpoints, and, with limited exceptions, where alcoholic beverages are sold.
Those who carry concealed weapons without a valid Wisconsin concealed carry permit are engaging in illegal activity and are subject to penalties. Violators could face up to $10,000 in fines, up to nine months in prison, or both. If you are carrying a concealed weapon when you are prohibited from owning a weapon under state law, you could face $25,000 in fines, up to 10 years in prison, or both. If you are caught carrying a weapon in one of the prohibited locations, such as a prison or courtroom, you could face up to $500 in fines, up to 30 days in jail, or both.
If you need the help of a reliable and competent Milwaukee criminal defense attorney, you should contact the law offices of Reddin & Singer. No matter what weapons-related charges you are facing, we can help. We are well-versed in various types of criminal defense law and will provide you with dependable legal representation to help you seek the most favorable outcome in your case. If you are uncertain about your legal rights and options, you will be glad to know we offer free, no-obligation consultations to each prospective client. Please do not hesitate to contact us online or call us at (414) 271-6400.